Milwaukee, Wisconsin · Updated October 5, 2026

How to Become a Nail Tech in Milwaukee: Schools, Costs and Next Steps

We list 10 Milwaukee-area schools and colleges with a manicuring or nail program, from DSPS-licensed academies in Milwaukee, Wauwatosa and Muskego to MATC’s 12-credit Nail Technician diploma.

The route, in short

  1. Complete a manicuring course of at least 300 hours, in 7 to 20 weeks, at a licensed school or a Wisconsin technical college.
  2. Apply for your Manicurist license ($11) through DSPS’s LicensE portal; your school sends DSPS its Certificate of Training.
  3. Pass the written and practical exams given by Prometric/D.L. Roope, picking a Wisconsin test site in its scheduling portal once you’re approved. Once you’re scheduled to test, you can apply for a $10 temporary permit to practice for up to 6 months while you wait (it can’t be renewed).

Full Wisconsin license requirements →

Woman practicing a gel manicure at home with a UV lamp

Illustrative photo.

Learn the Craft Now

The Sublime Professional Online Program

Gel, acrylic and Russian manicure, step by step, with Darya correcting photos of your own work. Access opens as soon as you pay.

$597,or 3 interest-free payments of $199

Online and self-paced. Not a Wisconsin-licensed school, so it doesn’t count toward Wisconsin’s 300 hours.

See the Online Program: $597 Try the Free Theory Class First
Local Snapshot

Milwaukee at a Glance

  • Written + practical exams through Prometric/D.L. Roope; you pick a Wisconsin test site in its portal once approved
  • We list 10 schools and colleges in the Milwaukee area, including MATC’s 12-credit Nail Technician diploma at $183.10 per credit for Wisconsin residents (2026–27)
  • Wisconsin law says the 300-hour course must take 7 to 20 weeks; each school sets its own schedule
  • $11 DSPS license fee; exam fees are separate, so confirm them with Prometric/D.L. Roope
Local Directory

Nail Tech Schools in Milwaukee

SchoolAreaNotes (from the school’s site)Price (as published)
Advanced Nail Tech AcademyHours not statedMilwaukeeEvening classes, Monday to Thursday. Accepts FSET/WIOA; no financial aid (per the school).eveningSee school
Center Street Nail Technology AcademyHours not statedMilwaukeeDay classes Monday, Wednesday and Friday: 7 weeks plus 1 week of state board prep (per the school).$4,550 (total cost; state board fees optional, $400)
Inspire Nail AcademyHours not statedWest Bend12 weeks of day classes on Mondays and Tuesdays; 2026 classes in West Bend (per the school).$3,800 (all-inclusive class)
L Spa's Academy of Excellence300 hoursMuskego10 weeks of Saturday and Sunday classes (per the school).weekend$4,900 (tuition; class kit and textbook included)
Milwaukee Area Technical College (MATC)12 credits (technical diploma)Downtown Milwaukee / MequonIn person; starts in August, January and June (per the college).$183.10 (per credit, Wisconsin resident, 2026–27; $261.83 out of state)
Moraine Park Technical College9 credits, 16 weeksWest Bend (Spring 2027) / Fond du LacEvening classes in the fall; West Bend campus in Spring 2027 only (per the college).evening$157.45 (per credit, state resident)
Paul Mitchell The School Milwaukee300 hoursWauwatosaPart of the program is taught online (distance education). Not Title IV eligible (per the school).hybrid (licensed)$5,255.29 (total costs)
The Institute of Beauty and Wellness (Milwaukee)300 hoursMilwaukee (E St Paul Ave)Part-time day (11 weeks) or evening (15 weeks) classes, Monday to Thursday. Interest-free payment plans (per the school).evening$4,200 (total tuition 2025–26, incl. $1,000 kit)
TOSA Nail AcademyHours not statedWauwatosa10-week classroom program, or Learn While You Work at a Brookfield salon, full or part-time (per the school).See school
Waukesha County Technical College (WCTC)320 hours, 9 creditsPewaukeeKit $720 plus tax; books about $275. Not eligible for financial aid (per the college).eveningweekendhybrid$157.45 (per credit, Wisconsin resident, plus fees)

License fee: $11 (DSPS). Exam fees are separate; confirm them with Prometric/D.L. Roope.

Private schools licensed per DSPS’s LicensE records (checked September 29, 2026), plus technical colleges (regulated by the Wisconsin Technical College System, not DSPS), that list a manicuring or nail program on their own site; programs and prices as published on September 30, 2026. Not ranked, recommended or complete. Confirm a school’s license with DSPS and get the full price in writing. Not listed: Empire Beauty School Milwaukee (its site says its nail tech program is not currently offered).

Where online practice fits

Some Wisconsin schools, such as Paul Mitchell The School Milwaukee, run licensed hybrid programs: part of the course online, the rest at the school, and those hours count toward your license. Sublime is different. It’s a private online program with a certificate of completion, not a license, and none of its hours count. What it gives you is practice, with Darya correcting photos of your work, before or alongside school.

Not sure yet? Try the free theory class first.

For costs elsewhere, see our national cost guide →

Start Now, Alongside Your Wisconsin Route

Your License Comes From School. Your Skill Can Start Today.

A private online program, not a Wisconsin-licensed school. Use it before or alongside school, not instead of it.

Gel, acrylic and Russian manicure, step by step · Darya corrects photos of your work · 6 months of access · A certificate of completion, not a state license.

Darya Shevchenko, Founder and Lead Educator at Sublime Professional

Darya Shevchenko

Founder and lead educator. Owns her own salon; has won nail competitions in Russia, Spain and Dubai.

“I expected a simple online nail course, but there was a lot more depth than I thought. The explanations were clear, the techniques were broken down step by step, and I learned several things I had been doing incorrectly before.”
— Lauren A.

3,500+ graduates across North America and 12 countries

$597,or 3 interest-free payments of $199

Not sure yet? Try the free theory class first.

Local Pay

What Nail Techs Earn in Milwaukee

$17.39/hour · about $36,170/year

In the Milwaukee-Waukesha metro, manicurists and pedicurists earned this median pay as of May 2025, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. BLS estimates about 1,140 manicurists and pedicurists work there as employees (May 2025).

That's what people already working in the area are paid, not what any school's graduates, ours included, can expect. Both figures cover employees only, not self-employed or booth-rental technicians. Our graduates still need a Wisconsin license before they can work on clients.

For pay across other metros, see our full salary guide →

Where You Test

Where You Take the Exams in Milwaukee

Prometric/D.L. Roope runs both exams for the Cosmetology Examining Board and doesn’t publish fixed test addresses: after you’re approved, its scheduling portal shows the Wisconsin site nearest your ZIP code, or you can choose another.

Written examOn a computer, 90 minutes. Offered in other languages as well as English.
Practical examIn person, about 3 hours, on a mannequin hand (models aren’t allowed). English only.

Source: Wisconsin Manicurist Candidate Handbook (Prometric/D.L. Roope), revised March 2026, effective April 1, 2026.

FAQ

Milwaukee Nail Tech — FAQ

How much does nail tech school cost in Milwaukee?

Milwaukee-area prices depend on the kind of program. MATC charges Wisconsin residents $183.10 per credit for 2026–27 ($261.83 out of state) for its 12-credit Nail Technician diploma; WCTC and Moraine Park Technical College each list $157.45 per credit for state residents, and WCTC adds a $720 kit (plus tax) and about $275 in books. Among the private schools, Inspire Nail Academy lists a $3,800 all-inclusive class, Center Street Nail Technology Academy a $4,550 total cost, L Spa’s Academy of Excellence $4,900 tuition with the kit and textbook, and Paul Mitchell The School Milwaukee total costs of $5,255.29; The Institute of Beauty and Wellness lists $4,200 total tuition for 2025–26. We don’t show one price for Advanced Nail Tech Academy or TOSA Nail Academy, so ask each for its current total. All figures are as published on September 30, 2026. DSPS’s license fee is $11 and exam fees are separate (Center Street offers to add state board fees for $400); ask whether a school’s price already includes any of them, and get the full price in writing.

How many nail tech schools are in Milwaukee?

We list 10. Seven are private schools that DSPS’s LicensE records showed as active on September 29, 2026; three are technical colleges (MATC, WCTC and Moraine Park), which are regulated by the Wisconsin Technical College System rather than licensed by DSPS. Each listed a manicuring or nail program on its own website when we checked on September 30, 2026. Empire Beauty School Milwaukee holds a license but says its nail program isn’t currently offered. There may well be others, so search DSPS’s LicensE records before you choose.

What do nail techs earn in Milwaukee?

Across the Milwaukee-Waukesha metro (Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington counties), BLS puts the median for manicurists and pedicurists at $17.39 an hour, about $36,170 a year (May 2025), and estimates about 1,140 of them work there as employees. Self-employed and booth-rental techs aren’t counted, and the figures reflect what people already doing the job earn, not what any school’s graduates, ours included, can expect.

Where do I take the licensing exams in Milwaukee?

Prometric/D.L. Roope gives both Wisconsin exams: a 90-minute written exam on a computer and a hands-on practical of about three hours on a mannequin hand, and you need a scaled score of 75 on each. The company doesn’t publish test-site addresses. Once you’re approved, its scheduling portal offers the Wisconsin site closest to your ZIP code, or any other Wisconsin site you’d rather use. The practical and the Wisconsin state-law questions are in English only. For help before you book, D.L. Roope’s line is 1-888-375-2020.

How do people pay for nail tech school in Milwaukee?

Each school sets its own options, in its own words. Center Street Nail Technology Academy lists FSET, W2, DVR, VA benefits, salon sponsorships and 0% interest payment plans; Advanced Nail Tech Academy says it accepts FSET/WIOA but not financial aid; The Institute of Beauty and Wellness offers interest-free payment plans; TOSA Nail Academy offers a four-installment plan. Paul Mitchell The School Milwaukee says its manicurist program isn’t Title IV eligible. Among the colleges, WCTC says its nail certificate doesn’t qualify for financial aid but offers payment plans for tuition and fees (not the kit), and MATC’s college-wide options include sponsorship and an MATC payment plan; ask MATC whether its Nail Technician diploma qualifies for aid. Ask your local American Job Center whether a school is on Wisconsin’s approved training list (WIOA).

More Guides

Nearby City Guides

Start Practicing Before School Starts

$597,or 3 interest-free payments of $199

Sublime Professional is a private online academy, not approved by Wisconsin or any other state. Our diploma is a certificate of completion, not a state license, and our hours don't count toward the 300 hours Wisconsin requires for a manicurist license.