Houston, Texas · Updated September 29, 2026

How to Become a Nail Tech in Houston: Schools, Costs, Exams and Pay

We list 23 TDLR-licensed Houston-area schools and colleges with a Manicurist program; the practical exam is at PSI's Northwest site.

The route, in short

  1. Complete a 600-hour Manicurist course at a TDLR-licensed school.
  2. When TDLR confirms you can test, apply for your license ($50) before your written exam.
  3. Pass PSI’s written exam (4 Houston-area centers or online), then the practical at PSI’s Northwest site. After you pass, a 60-day temporary license prints with your score report.

Full Texas license requirements →

Woman practicing a gel manicure at home with a UV lamp

Illustrative photo.

Learn the Craft Now

The Sublime Professional Online Program

Gel, acrylic and Russian manicure, step by step, with Darya correcting photos of your own work. Access opens as soon as you pay.

$597,or 3 interest-free payments of $199

Online and self-paced. Not a TDLR-licensed school, so it doesn’t count toward Texas’s 600 hours.

See the Online Program: $597 Try the Free Theory Class First
Local Snapshot

Houston at a Glance

  • 4 written-exam centers in Houston; the practical is at the Northwest center
  • We list 23 TDLR-licensed schools in the Houston area with a Manicurist program (see below)
  • The 600-hour course runs about 15 weeks at 40 hours a week; longer part-time
  • $181 in license and exam fees: TDLR $50 application, PSI $55 written and $76 practical
Local Directory

Nail Tech Schools in Houston

SchoolAreaNotes (from the school’s site)Price (as published)
249 Beauty CollegeHours not statedHoustonFull-time: about 4 months. Kit included.Not published — ask
360 Degrees Beauty Academy #1600 hoursHoustonNot published — ask
89 Beauty School600 hoursCypressFull-time: about 5 months. Part-time: about 8 months.$6,199 (total cost)
Advanced Beauty AcademyHours not statedPasadenaNot published — ask
Colour Beauty School600 hoursHoustonClasses in Spanish. Tuesday–Friday, morning and afternoon. About 30 weeks (per the school).Not published — ask
D'Luz Beauty Academy600 hoursHoustonAbout 5–6 months.Not published — ask
Design Beauty College600 hoursSpringAbout 4–5 months. English and Spanish. Some theory online (hybrid).Not published — ask
Face It Beauty School600 hoursPearlandPayment plans.Not published — ask
GNU Beauty Institute600 hoursHoustonNot published — ask
Houston City College17 credits, 1 semesterHouston (South / Alief Bissonnet)In-person classes.From $84.50 per semester hour (in-district resident)

License and exam fees: $181 (TDLR $50 application, PSI $55 written and $76 practical)

Schools and colleges licensed per TDLR records listing Manicurist programs on their own site, checked September 29, 2026 (10 of 23 schools and colleges); prices as published. Not ranked, recommended or complete. Confirm TDLR course approval and full price in writing.

Show all 23 schools and colleges
SchoolAreaNotes (from the school’s site)Price (as published)
Houston Training Schools600 hoursHoustonEnglish and Spanish. Part-time available. Financial aid, per the school.$10,900
Image AcademyHours not statedHoustonAbout 6 months (per the school).Not published — ask
Institute of Cosmetology600 hoursHoustonMonday–Friday, 9am–3pm. About 5 months.Not published — ask
Latin America Beauty School600 hoursBellaireClasses in Spanish.Not published — ask
Legacy Beauty Academy600 hoursTomballTuesday–Friday 9am–4pm; evening classes Tuesday–Thursday 6–10pm.Not published — ask
Milan Institute600 hoursHouston24 weeks full-time (per the school). English.Not published — ask
Paul Mitchell The School Clear Lake600 hoursWebsterDay and evening schedules.$8,608.27 (total program cost)
Paul Mitchell The School Houston600 hoursHoustonFull-time day or part-time night.$8,608.27 (total program cost)
San Jacinto College17 credits, about 3 monthsHouston (North / South)From $83 per credit hour (in-district Texas resident)
Stay Ready Nails AcademyHours not statedHoustonAsk the school
Tha Nail Artistry AcademyHours not statedHoustonAbout 4 months total (per the school). Some theory online (hybrid).Not published — ask
Top Secret Beauty Spa & Academy600 hoursHoustonMornings Monday–Thursday; evenings Monday–Wednesday. No financial aid.$6,800 (tuition; testing not included)
Torito & Liza Beauty Academy600 hoursHoustonBilingual instructors.Not published — ask

Plenty of people want to know they love this work, and try their hand at it, before they sign up for school. That’s where Sublime fits: a self-paced online program in gel, acrylics and Russian manicure, with Darya correcting photos of your own work. It’s $597, or 3 interest-free payments of $199. It doesn’t count toward Texas’s 600 hours; it’s where your skill starts.

Not sure yet? Try the free theory class first.

For costs elsewhere, see our national cost guide →

Start Now, Alongside Your Texas Route

Your License Comes From School. Your Skill Can Start Today.

A private online program, not a TDLR-licensed school. Use it before or alongside school, not instead of it.

Gel, acrylic and Russian manicure, step by step · Darya corrects photos of your work · 6 months of access · A certificate of completion, not a state license.

Darya Shevchenko, Founder and Lead Educator at Sublime Professional

Darya Shevchenko

Founder and lead educator. Owns her own salon; has won nail competitions in Russia, Spain and Dubai.

“Before starting, I knew some basic nail techniques but I didn't feel confident enough. The course helped me understand the process properly and made me much more comfortable practicing on my own.”
— Emily C.

3,500+ graduates across North America and 12 countries

$597,or 3 interest-free payments of $199

Not sure yet? Try the free theory class first.

Local Pay

What Nail Techs Earn in Houston

$16.87/hour · about $35,080/year

In the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands metro, manicurists and pedicurists earned this median pay as of May 2025, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. BLS estimates about 1,490 manicurists and pedicurists work there as employees (May 2025).

That's what people already working in the area are paid, not what any school's graduates, ours included, can expect. Both figures cover employees only, not self-employed or booth-rental technicians. Our graduates still need a Texas license before they can work on clients.

For pay across other metros, see our full salary guide →

Where You Test

Where You Take the Exams in Houston

4 written-exam centers in Houston, or test remotely through PSI’s online-proctored option; in Houston, the practical is at the Northwest center.

Houston (East)11811 I-10 East Freeway, Suite 260, Houston, TX 77029
Houston (South)9888 Bissonnet St., Suite 570, Houston, TX 77036
Houston (Northwest)Written + practical9800 Northwest Freeway, Suite 200, Houston, TX 77092
Houston North (Greenbriar Place)650 North Sam Houston Pkwy E, Suite 535, Houston, TX 77060

Source: PSI Manicurist License Examination Candidate Information Bulletin, effective January 1, 2026.

FAQ

Houston Nail Tech — FAQ

How much does nail tech school cost in Houston?

It depends on the school, and on what the price covers. Among the Houston-area schools we list, published prices run from $6,199 total at 89 Beauty School to $10,900 at Houston Training Schools; Top Secret Beauty Spa & Academy lists $6,800 tuition (testing not included), and both Paul Mitchell The School campuses list total costs of $8,608.27, all as published on September 29, 2026. Houston City College and San Jacinto College publish per-credit rates instead. TDLR and PSI also charge $181 in license and exam fees; ask whether a school’s price already includes any of them, and get the full price in writing.

How many nail tech schools are in Houston?

We list 23 schools and colleges in the Houston area that TDLR’s license records showed as licensed on September 29, 2026 and whose own website lists a Manicurist or nail program — see the full list above. There may well be others, so search TDLR’s license records before you choose.

What do nail techs earn in Houston?

In the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands metro, BLS puts the median for manicurists and pedicurists at $16.87 an hour, about $35,080 a year (May 2025), and estimates about 1,490 of them work there as employees. Those figures leave out self-employed and booth-rental techs, and they show what people already in the job earn, not what any school’s graduates, ours included, can expect.

Where do I take the licensing exams in Houston?

PSI gives both exams, and you have to pass the written one before you can sit for the practical. For the written, Houston has four PSI centers (on the I-10 East Freeway, on Bissonnet St. in southwest Houston, on the Northwest Freeway, and on North Sam Houston Parkway near Greenbriar), or you can test online with a remote proctor. The practical is hands-on and in person; in Houston it’s at the Northwest Freeway center, 9800 Northwest Freeway, Suite 200.

More Guides

Nearby City Guides

Start Practicing Before School Starts

$597,or 3 interest-free payments of $199

Sublime Professional is a private online academy, not approved by Texas or any other state. Our diploma is a certificate of completion, not a state license, and our hours don't count toward the 600 hours TDLR requires for a manicurist license.