Home / Nail License Requirements / Georgia

Nail Licensing · Georgia

Georgia Nail Technician License Requirements

To do nails for pay in Georgia you need a certificate of registration as a nail technician — 525 hours over at least four months, plus a written and practical exam at 70 percent each. Georgia also runs a real apprenticeship route, and the hours figure for it is one of the most widely mis-reported numbers in the industry.

Georgia Code and Board rule sources525 hours + state exams
Close-up of elegant deep-red manicured nails

Read this first

The apprenticeship figure most sites publish does not exist

Georgia’s nail technician apprenticeship is 8 months and 1,050 hours. That is the nail technician row of the Board’s apprenticeship table, and it is the number the Board applies.

A figure of “2,050 hours” circulates widely across licensing directories and aggregator sites. It matches no row in the rule at all. The neighbouring rows are Master Cosmetologist and Master Barber at 18 months / 3,000 hours, Barber II at 14 months / 2,280 hours, Esthetician at 18 months / 2,000 hours, and Hair Designer at 14 months / 2,650 hours. None of them is 2,050. If you are planning around that number, you are planning around something that was never in the regulation.

One more thing worth knowing before you choose a route: apprentice hours and school hours cannot be combined. You cannot part-complete a school course and top it up with apprentice hours, or the reverse. Pick a lane at the start.

The credential

What Georgia actually issues

Georgia issues a certificate of registration entitling the holder “to practice the occupation of a nail technician”. It comes from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers, whose licensing functions are administered by the Professional Licensing Boards Division of the Office of the Secretary of State. The Board was formed by merging the former separate barber and cosmetology boards in 2015.

The personal requirements are stricter than several neighbouring states. You must be at least 17 years old to be licensed — though you may begin an apprenticeship at 16 — and you must hold a high school diploma, a state-approved high school equivalency diploma, or a postsecondary or college degree. Georgia does not accept a ninth or tenth grade equivalency for this licence, which several other states do.

Official source: sos.ga.gov — Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. Confirm current details and fees there before you enrol or apply.

Step by step

How to become a nail tech in Georgia

Four steps from training to registered nail technician. If you are weighing the career itself, start with how to become a nail technician, step by step.

1

Complete 525 hours

Georgia requires a course of at least four months totaling 525 hours of training — 140 Level 1 theory hours and 385 Level 2 service-application hours — for the certificate of registration, under Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 240-17-.02, checked on September 24, 2026 via Cornell Law School’s Legal Information Institute republication of the rule.

Finish a course of at least four months totalling 525 hours at a Board-approved school. The rule splits it into 140 Level 1 theory hours and 385 Level 2 service-application hours — and the theory has to be finished before you move to the clinic floor.

2

Or apprentice instead

Georgia’s apprenticeship route is 8 months and 1,050 hours. Apprentice licences issued since July 2015 last four years and cannot be renewed, so it is a route with a clock on it.

3

Pass both exams

Georgia requires a written and a practical examination, each passed with a minimum score of 70 percent. Both are administered by a vendor the Board designates rather than by the Board itself, and you file proof of passing from that designated agent with your application.

4

Register & renew

Submit your application through the division director with your documentation and the required fee. Renewal comes with a continuing education requirement — but not on your first renewal. More on that below.

Start building the skills

Your license comes from Georgia’s board. Your skills can start today.

The state decides who may practise. Nobody decides how good you are but you. Our online program teaches the craft — Russian manicure, structure, e-file safety — on your own schedule, alongside the hours Georgia requires.

Explore the Nail Technician Program

The honest answer

Can you get a Georgia nail license online?

Not entirely — but Georgia is more open here than most states, and it is worth understanding exactly how far that goes.

Georgia does permit distance delivery, but only for the theory portion, and only when it is delivered by a school the Board licenses or approves. The hands-on service-application hours — the larger part of the 525 — cannot be completed at a distance. So an online course, including this one, cannot on its own qualify you for a Georgia certificate of registration.

What that does mean in practice is that a Board-approved Georgia school may legitimately run its theory component online. If a blended schedule matters to you, ask a specific school what it is approved to deliver that way, and confirm it with the Board rather than taking any third-party page’s word for it — including this one.

Sublime diploma

Proof you did the training

A completion diploma — like the Sublime Professional Diploma — shows you finished the program’s lessons and sent photos of your own work. It is a certificate of completion, earned online and at your own pace — not a state license, and its hours do not count toward Georgia’s licensing requirements.

Georgia certificate of registration

Legal permission to work

The certificate of registration from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers is what lets you take paying clients. It comes from the state, after the required hours and both examinations. No online school can issue it.

Sublime Professional is a private academy. It is not accredited, and our diploma is not a state license. What it is: structured training in gel, acrylic and Russian manicure technique, with Darya correcting photos of your own work.

Renewal

Continuing education, renewal and what it costs

Georgia requires continuing education — five hours, biennially. The Board’s rule breaks that into 3 hours in health and safety and 2 hours in other specified areas. Instructors carry a heavier requirement of 15 hours.

The detail almost everyone leaves out: your first renewal is exempt. The statute is explicit — “a holder who is renewing a certificate of registration for the first time shall not be required to meet the continuing education requirement until the time of the second renewal.” So new licensees do not need CE hours the first time round.

When it expires: nail licenses (listed as “Manicurists” in Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 295-2-.02) expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years, so you renew every two years. Check the expiry date on your own license record.

If you renew late: Georgia’s rules allow a late renewal from September 1 to September 30. After six months unrenewed, the lapse has the same effect as a revocation, and you must apply for reinstatement ($200) with proof of your CE hours (Rule 240-1-.04).

On fees, we are not going to publish numbers we cannot stand behind. Georgia’s statute fixes no dollar amount — it says the renewal fee is “set by the board by regulation” — and the Board publishes its fee schedule only as a downloadable document rather than a web page we could verify against. Get the current application, examination and renewal fees directly from the Board. Tuition is separate and set by each school.

Moving to Georgia

Transferring an out-of-state license

Georgia’s endorsement route is simpler than most, and that is a genuine advantage. It runs inbound — a person licensed in another state applying for a Georgia licence — and it expressly covers nail care alongside cosmetology, barber, barber II, hair design and esthetics, with no distinction drawn against nail technicians.

What the endorsement rule notably does not impose is as important as what it does. It sets no minimum number of years or hours of licensed practice. It applies no “substantially similar” test to standard applicants — that language appears only in the separate provision for military service members. And it names no excluded states and no excluded licence types. Several states we have looked at publish long exclusion lists; Georgia does not.

You will pay a non-refundable application processing fee, the amount of which the rule does not state.

If you trained outside Georgia but are not yet licensed anywhere, the position is less clear and you should get it in writing. The statute requires “a board approved school” and contains no words limiting that school to one physically located in Georgia — but the endorsement rule only addresses people who already hold a licence, and we found no rule stating how raw out-of-state hours are treated for an unlicensed applicant. Ask the Board directly before you rely on hours you already hold.

Applicants trained outside the United States are contemplated by the statute, which requires a Board-approved credentials evaluation before sitting the examination rather than refusing the application outright.

Darya Shevchenko, Founder and Lead Educator at Sublime Professional

Written & reviewed by

Darya Shevchenko

Founder & Lead Educator, Sublime Professional

This Georgia guide is compiled from official state sources by Sublime Professional’s education team, led by Darya, who has spent more than 15 years as a working nail artist and salon owner. We’re an online academy, so we’re careful to be honest about what our training is (real skills and a professional diploma) and what only the state can give you (your licence).

Wondering how the craft side works? Our online nail technician program builds the hands-on technique behind a nail career, with feedback from working educators. More about Darya.

Questions

Georgia nail license FAQ

Can I get my nail technician license online in Georgia?
Not entirely. Georgia permits distance delivery of the theory portion only, and only through a school the Board licenses or approves. The hands-on service-application hours cannot be completed at a distance, so an online course cannot on its own qualify you. A Board-approved Georgia school may legitimately run its theory component online — ask the school what it is approved to deliver and confirm with the Board.
How many hours do you need to be a nail tech in Georgia?
525 hours, completed over a course of at least four months at a Board-approved school. The rule divides it into 140 Level 1 theory hours and 385 Level 2 service-application hours, and the theory must be completed before you move to the clinic floor.
How long is the nail technician apprenticeship in Georgia?
8 months and 1,050 hours. Be careful with a widely circulated figure of 2,050 hours — it matches no row in the Board’s apprenticeship table. Apprentice hours cannot be combined with school hours in either direction, and apprentice licences issued since July 2015 last four years and cannot be renewed.
Is there a state board exam for nail techs in Georgia?
Yes, and there are two parts. Georgia requires both a written and a practical examination, each passed with a minimum score of 70 percent. Both are administered by a vendor the Board designates rather than by the Board itself, and you must file proof of passing from that designated agent with your application.
Does Georgia require continuing education for nail techs?
Yes — five hours biennially, made up of 3 hours in health and safety and 2 hours in other specified areas. Importantly, your first renewal is exempt: the statute says a holder renewing for the first time is not required to meet the continuing education requirement until the second renewal.
How old do you have to be, and do you need a diploma?
You must be at least 17 to be licensed, though you may begin an apprenticeship at 16. Georgia requires a high school diploma, a state-approved high school equivalency diploma, or a postsecondary or college degree — it does not accept a ninth or tenth grade equivalency the way some other states do.
How much does a nail tech license cost in Georgia?
We are not publishing a figure, because we could not verify one. Georgia’s statute fixes no dollar amount — it says the renewal fee is set by the board by regulation — and the Board publishes its fee schedule only as a downloadable document rather than a verifiable web page. Get the current application, examination and renewal fees directly from the Board.
What happens if I let my Georgia license expire?
Renew by August 31 of odd-numbered years; Georgia’s rules allow a late renewal until September 30. After six months unrenewed, the lapse has the same effect as a revocation, and you must apply for reinstatement ($200) with proof of your CE hours.
Can I transfer an out-of-state nail license to Georgia?
Yes, and Georgia’s endorsement route is simpler than most. It runs inbound, expressly covers nail care, and imposes no minimum years or hours of licensed practice, no “substantially similar” test for standard applicants, and no excluded states or licence types. You pay a non-refundable application processing fee, the amount of which the rule does not state.

By state

Nail tech license requirements in other states

Requirements differ sharply from state to state — hours, exams, and whether any part can be done at a distance.

Florida · California · Texas · New York · Ohio · Illinois · Massachusetts · Michigan · Maryland · Utah · Indiana · Virginia · Colorado · Wisconsin · Nebraska · Alabama · New Mexico · Arizona · Pennsylvania · Missouri · New Jersey · North Carolina · All states

Start building the skills

Understand Georgia’s path. Master the craft.

Georgia tells you how many hours. It does not teach you how to build a nail that lasts. That part is what we teach.

See the Nail Technician Program

Not ready to enroll yet? Get the free Nail Tech Starter Guide.

Get our free Nail Tech Starter Guide — a nail theory guide sent straight to your inbox, no payment details needed.

Get the Free Guide